On Location at Club Borealis

Club-Borealis_007-Complete

Last Friday night I was invited to attend part two of the Grand Opening of a new club by the wonderful name of Club Borealis. I say “part two” because I want to feel special since I was asleep when the actual opening took place, sometimes time zones are a real pain.

Anyway, I went along as it had been a little while since my last human interaction while logged in and, honestly, I was more than a little excited to have been invited. It’s the little things, you know?

The awesome DJ Mackenzie Abbot was the player of the tunes, while Shiraz Jacobus kept us entertained, and in the know, as the host. There were two lovely dancers on stage, Syranni Jacobus and Krissy, who kept some enthralled with their beauty and amazing skill on stage.

Club-Borealis-DJ_002-Complete

I will be honest here and say I have never really understood having dancers at DJ events. I’ve been told it’s for additional eye candy and while that’s probably a very lucrative reason for the club, I still don’t really see the point. For instance, if I go to a club that’s promoting a DJ event I am going so I can hear the DJ perform. However, this little side track doesn’t have any bearing on the performance of the club; moving on.

The owners of the club Hal Garren (halgarre), Tasha (tashaepona) and Kalleesti Moirae (ysaera) were very approachable and friendly, which I have always found is a tremendous asset to a successful club. They’re very much team focused and driven, providing a very solid foundation for their staff. Indeed, I did notice this in the two hours I spent there! Perhaps I notice too much, but we’ll leave that for another post.

Like with many new clubs they are hiring DJ’s, Hosts and Dancers. You can find the applications in-world on the application board, which is on the left hand side of the stage. All completed applications can be deposited in the application mailbox on the ground to the right of the stage. All job-related inquiries should be directed to Kalleesti Moirae (ysaera) or Tasha (tashaepona).

Speaking of application mailboxes, right next to it is a box where you can get the free club t-shirt! It’s mesh — of course I had to test it — so there’s no need to worry if you have a mesh body! It’s a really good quality t-shirt too. Yeah, I was pleasantly surprised even though I  probably should have realised they’d have awesome skills!

Club-Borealis-2_002-Complete

It’s a lovely out door club with an Aurora Borealis circling in the sky. Who am I kidding?! I don’t write about scenery. If you want to see what it looks like go and check it out, join the in-world group and go along to one of their events.

They have a Facebook group too, which is great if you have an account for your avatar. If, like me, you have a page the group won’t be of much help.

There’s also an event board, which I was told will be open for competitions in the not-too-distant future! It’s been so long since I’ve been to a comp I wouldn’t even know what to do at one anymore!

All in all it’s a great club with a relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff and good vibes. Check it out if Second Life clubs are your thing!

Club-Borealis-2_001-Complete

Additional note: Facebook actually has a policy about using fake names for accounts and you can find your avatar account closed without any warning. If you are so inclined you can read Facebook’s full Terms and Conditions here.
However, you are allowed to create a page for your avatar or any other fictional character. Strawberry Singh has a fantastic tutorial about that here.

Full disclosure: I was asked to write this post, however, I have not been paid to write it.

Leave a Reply

